HW: Upgrading the workhorse from 4GB to 16GB – Macbook Pro 2012

It’s really been a while since my last post. A lot has changed since then. I have been thinking on how can I start writing again for a while. I decided to start with something light.

I was assigned with a stock MBP 2012 in my new job. Core i5, 4GB… blah blah.. just stock specs. It was OK for a while but I started hitting the 4GB ceiling when I started playing around with VMs or if I’m processing 19k+ photos in Aperture.

Things just got sloooowww…. It’s a no brainer that I really need to add more RAM. Lots of it.

So I started checking online if where can I buy RAM with best bang-for-the-buck. I paid a visit to that trusty TipidPC site. I decided to get this item. It’s a Crucial 16GB (8×2) CT2K8G3S160BM memory sticks. I managed to buy it yesterday for 4,400PHP (109USD). And after a series of meetings at work, I finally got it installed last night when I got home.

This is how it went…

First, I checked for a good tutorial, iFixit has a good step-by-step guide here.

I removed the back panel as indicated in the guide…
IMG_6261

Then I disconnected the battery. I had to do this slowly, wiggling it side to side (slowly) until it got loose.
IMG_6262

When I checked the memory (Samsung M471B5773DH0-CK0), I was surprised to see a “Made in the Philippines” sticker🙂
IMG_6263

Removing the top RAM module is easy. Removing the second one will require some finesse and a little patience.
IMG_6265

Now that the “old” modules are out, I replaced it with the “new” ones.
IMG_6266

Time to close it and cross fingers when I press the power button.
IMG_6267

So I guess it worked!
IMG_6269

Just to be sure I ram memtest for Mac OS X as well. I used this site as reference. After running memtest, no red flags were raised. That’s good!🙂

Screen Shot 2013-03-13 at 8.27.53 PM

References:

Leave a Reply

