How-To: Gmail with Offline plugin, using Firefox-3.5 in Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04 64-bit

I used Gmail a lot. I like it’s simple and fast user interface. Aside from that, its plug-ins (Gmail Labs) are quite useful. One of the plug-ins that I really like is Offline. It gives me access to my old emails when there’s no internet connection available, using same Gmail’s interface.

This plug-in requires Google Gears, which can be easily installed as a Firefox add-on. The only problem is, only a 32-bit version is available in Firefox’s add-on list. Since I upgraded my work station to a 64-bit version of Ubuntu months ago, I can’t install Google Gears, which in turn, I can’t enable Offline in Gmail Labs… Anyway, not using Offline is no big deal so I let it pass.

I was organizing my mails today and I was, somehow, reminded about Offline, and I figured, “Maybe there’s a 64-bit version of Google Gears now”… Well, no. It’s not supported officially yet. After a little googling, I found this blog [blog.celogeek.com] . This guy has steps on how to compile Google Gears. He’s even kind enough to upload the binaries🙂

By the way, I am using a Firefox 3.5.5pre…

After installing the 64-bit binary of Google Gears from the blog…

.. the Offline plug-in is now working!😀

One thought on “How-To: Gmail with Offline plugin, using Firefox-3.5 in Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04 64-bit

  1. Pingback: Gmail with Offline enabled with Firefox 3.6.12 in Ubuntu 10.04 « mundane idiosyncrasies

Leave a Reply

