a linux developer using window vista as an OS…

In my previous post, I listed the tools that I use. As I’m doing my little quest, I found out that most of it can be installed using Cygwin, and for that, I’m very grateful. Kudos to Cygwin maintainers and developers. They saved my sanity on this one.

Cygwin supported…

Perl, Python, C/C++, SSH server and client, Apache HTTP server and Vim can all be installed using Cygwin. The complete list of supported packages can be viewed here.

some notes…

There’s a problem in installing CPAN modules when using Perl 5.10 in Cygwin, the solution is to downgrade to 5.8 . If using 5.10 is a must, another alternative is ActiveState’s ActivePerl. It has it’s own tool in managing CPAN modules called Perl Package Manager.

a better terminal…

Windows’ default terminal, cmd, just plainly sucks.

Default terminals of window managers like GNOME and KDE in Linux are far more advanced compared to Windows cmd. Multi-tabs, session profiles, not to mention Bash as a default shell. Those are features that I really find useful…

Since 60% of my time is interfacing a terminal when I’m doing work stuff, I nead an alternative. It has support for tabs at the very least…

As it turned out, looking for an alternative is not that hard. Just a simple google search, a few mouse clicks and a quick read, lead me to this site.

The program is called Console. It doesn’t get simpler than that.

After downloading, just unpack and run the executable, Console.exe. There’s no need for installation.

some notes…

You can use Console side-by-side with Cygwin. Integrating it is simple, just look at this screen shot once you ran Console.

just point it to Cygwin’s executable…

wrapping it up…

I managed to set-up most of the tools that I need. It’s not that hard to find the missing pieces if you have a pool of information just waiting to be searched. It doesn’t end here though. Yet to be seen if my tools will work at all…

Leave a Reply

