trying out kde 4

KDE 4 shows a lot of promise when it was first announced that’s why I’ve been waiting for it with much anticipation for quite some time now. It was scheduled for release last year but, unfortunately, it was postponed… The day came though, it was finally released last January 11th. And so, given that I’ve been itching to put my hands on it, I decided to install and check it out.

Installation is easy, instructions are that simple.
Ubuntugeek has a nice article for that.

In summary, all you have to do is follow these steps:

add the kde 4 repository to sources.list
xxx@mybox:~$ sudo echo -e “\ndeb http://ppa.launchpad.net/kubuntu-members-kde4/ubuntu gutsy main” >> /etc/apt/sources.list
xxx@mybox:~$ sudo apt-get update

remove previously installed kde4 packages
xxx@mybox:~$ sudo apt-get remove kdelibs5 kde4base-data kde4libs-data
xxx@mybox:~$ sudo apt-get install kde4-core

After I installed the KDE 4 core packages, this is where my disappointments surfaced…
Now I have the following problems…

  1. WiFi connection’s not working… and I can’t configure it.
  2. keyboard shortcuts are not working…
  3. sometimes the desktop freezes when I change the desktop theme…
  4. (this is where I decided that it’s not ready to replace my current set-up yet)

I managed to make the WiFi working by using GNOME’s network manager applet. Since I have no shortcut keys, I have to run it by right-clicking on the Desktop then the “Run Command” option or via konsole:


xxx@mybox:~$ nm-applet –sm-disable


On the bright side, the desktop looks great though…


To wrap it up, KDE 4’s not that stable yet, but given that it’s newly released, I expect it to have some rough points. The KDE team did a great job on developing it, so expect that rough points will be polished in the next coming months. And that’s something to look forward to…

Leave a Reply

